Fabric bought…

Standard

I guess this will be a bit of a girly post, so those who are already suspicious of the title might want to flee before you get too far in…but oh my god fabric!!!! Don’t worry, I’ll make it short. On Tuesday, my sister and I went to downtown LA’s semi seedy fabric district and spent hours and hours searching and weighing options like children in a candy store. A really big block of candy stores with beautifully inexpensive linen :D After much deliberation, comparing and wandering, we got everything to make all my curtains and upholster the window seat bench!

I’m going to make split curtains for each window so that they’ll tie at the sides when not in use, and have another rod for a lighter material (the white stuff) behind to provide a thin covering if I don’t want to block as much sunshine. I say ‘I’ am going to make them, but really my sister gets the credit. I’m pretty decent at hand sewing, but it would take forever to do them all that way and her skills with the sewing machine trump mine by a lot.

Apparently I ‘break’ her machine every time I try to use it. Confounded piece of…Anyway :D It’s actually really nice to have help when that someone is far more efficient than I could be.

Can’t wait to get these going!

7 responses »

  1. Beautiful fabrics! I’m enjoying reading about the construction of your Tumbleweed. I want to build one myself but I need some $$ and a place to build it first!

  2. Hi Ella,
    I never thought of sheers (the white stuff 8′-D). The do help immensely.

    I’m so glad you are chronicling this as it will make it sooo much easier when I go to build mine. Course now I’ve come to the conclusion that I want to build a huge greenhouse and put my tiny house inside. Get a couple birds and let them fly free…

    It’s beautiful. Keep up the great work.

    Tegan

  3. Hi Ella

    I love your blog and the photos are amazing! I work for a publishing house and have been trying to get in touch with you. Could you please contact me on smenon1910@gmail.com as soon as possible? We would like to discuss a potential project with you.

    Thanks & Regards
    S. Menon

Leave a Reply

