A rather tiny bathroom…

Standard

I’ve barely mentioned anything about my bathroom thus far, so now that it’s almost completely finished I had best get on it. It is located behind the kitchen, adjacent to the pink room and underneath my loft floor. I suppose it’s one of the only things in Little Yellow that’s in the same place as the original Fencl floorplan. It’s a little wider though, and a little shorter I think.

I remember in summers when I was little, my mom would put a galvanized horse trough out in the backyard. We’d fill it with water, and it would be our grand swimming pool. I freakin’ loved that thing. So when it came to building my house, such a horse trough was my first choice over those nifty corner shower units.

It works pretty well actually. I used a clawfoot tub faucet with a shower diverter that I’ve run a copper riser from, so it can be used as a tub too. A 3′ long tub, but a tub nonetheless :D The faucet also functions as my bathroom sink since I decided not to install a proper one. It had less to do with not wanting a sink, and more to do with spacial issues and being incapable of deciding where to put it. That and the thought of drilling another hole in my floor…Anyway, I honestly don’t miss the sink, it’s pretty tight in there and my tub faucet is just fine.

I made a shower rod out of copper as well (1/2″ held from the wall by brass cup hooks), and hung from it the beautiful yellow curtain my sister and brother (in law) gave me as my housewarming present. Since I could only silicone down the side of the tub that’s facing out, I built a 2x redwood deck around the backside to keep water from getting in there and to have a place to set things.

My toilet is the good old bucket and sawdust type, as by online instructions, with a hexagonal cedar box to make things look a bit more sightly. I haven’t used it yet. I’ll admit I’m a mite afraid of the thing… That box did not want to get made, either. My dad and I aptly named it the hexagonal toilet from hell. Quite apt.

Now, I have no door to this bathroom. It’s one of those things that I really didn’t want to make, and so far I’ve done a great job at continually not making it. It’d be heavy, I don’t know which way it’d swing and it’s too late for a pocket door, so I’ll probably end up with a curtain. With just me living inside, I’m fine with that. I could always build one later if it becomes important.

My aforementioned sister (and lifelong collector of marvelous, often useless things) naturally had a brass porthole mirror lying at the bottom of a bookshelf, which she donated to my cause last week. It’s pretty much awesome, and sits under my bathroom light because it just looks so very nice there :D I made 2 redwood shelves, put up a little manzanita branch to hold jewelry, and that’s about it.

As a note, my tub is about 3ish inches bigger than my front door is, so in the unfortunate event of its removal, I’ll either have to convince it out the big window or it will be tub sawing time. I’m hoping this tub has a good, long life.

 

 

61 responses »

  1. Hopefully I don’t end up double posting – I included a link in this by way of example, and it didn’t show up.

    Have you considered a folding RV door? It wouldn’t swing in or out, or require a pocket – just folds up along one side of the doorframe when not in use. It would be more solid than a curtain, and give a better sense of visual privacy if you have guests over. Wouldn’t do much for strong smells, but there are other ways to help with that. :)

    Instead of a link, I’ll just suggest googling “RV interior folding door” to see what I mean.

  2. Pingback: A Rather Tiny Bathroom | Tiny House Living

  3. Very clever little bathroom! My first thougth was of how the kittens will enjoy the jewelry tree – such a lovely toy full of dangly, sparkly things. :)

  4. Ella,
    Our door is verticle tongue/groove white pine with two cleats. You could bi fold it with more hinges.
    The humanure toilet works great. we line with a garbage bag and shredded paper because the liquid “floods the system”. And be sure to use dust and not shavings. We also use some nat Rv toilet digester– adds alittle fragerance.

  5. Using a real tree branch to hang jewelry is so much cooler than all the metal branch things I see in stores. Infinitely cheaper too. Great idea!

    • My sister and I used to have twigs in vases full of sand to hold our jewelry, but I didn’t have space for the vases this time around. It makes me feel like there’s a tiny fairy forest in my bathroom :D

  6. Honestly,,, Its like you are a designer!!! You continue to blow me away with your designs. Your little house is officially my favorite. Such a cozy yet open feel with such awesome personal custom touches throughout. AMAZING!!!!

    Jeff

  7. So cool! I totally agree with Jeff, you seem to go along with construction and then when you need to, make something awesome up on the spot! :D

  8. o.k this is creepy at best. I have kept up with all your adventures, and lessons, and am allso building my tiny house of my own design( meaning to cheap to buy the plans) and just finished my bathroom last week, and it is allmost a carbon copy of your bathroom! same plumbing, same tub, same shelf, cept all my trim is cedar. if i could upload pictures you would be beyond shocked. lol

  9. Ella, I love the bathroom! Something that we are considering using for our bathroom door is a barn style door that would slide on a track. Not sure if it would work with your dimmensions, but something to consider. It looks like you might be able to do it on the outside divider wall of your bathroom (if that makes sense). Keep up the great work!

  10. I gave the problem of how to make a door in a confined space a bit of thought and the idea that came to me was to find out how vertical blinds worked and make something similar but with red cedar lining boards.

    If at the top of each board you had some sort of cam so that as they moved along a track they turned 90 degrees then they would open and fold away when you opened the door. The opened door would only take up about 6″ of door way space. I’ve seen these made of vinyl and they are really crappy, but a more solid material may work better.

    • My sink and shower water run through pipes that meet under the trailer to which there’s a waste hose attached. Currently, the water just drains from the hose into the gravel driveway, but I also have a smallish, wheeled tank that can be emptied mostly anyplace.

  11. Ella, we are also curious as to where you got your galvanized 3′ tub from. We’re planning on using one in our tiny house also, but we’re having difficulty finding one in the right size! (maybe because we’re in Canada?) Everything in your home looks absolutely lovely.

  12. I love your shower/tub! I have been bouncing around ideas on what to do for my tiny bathroom on my FB page, and someone just suggested using a trough. I have a little person who needs a bathtub, and I’m loving this look! Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Wow, I just looked over your blog and I’m so excited for you guys! What an adventure for you and your girl :D Best of luck, feel free to get in touch with any questions

      • Aw, thank you so much! It’s such a fun adventure already. I’ll definitely keep following along with you..and probably bug you with some questions along the way :)

  13. Am loving to read about your process. Not sure I understand the handwashing portion of your bathroom, though. Does one use the faucet at the edge of the tub? That would mean one bends over or kneels down, right?

  14. I just discovered your blog and am enjoying reading about your construction. I am building a Sonoma Shanty tiny house design for use as a shed. I have added a link to your site on my blog.
    Keep the posts and pictures coming!
    Dave

  15. It’s possible to make a sliding door that goes either on the inside or the outside of the bathroom wall. But yeah. A curtain would probably work great. Using the toilet will be fine (deep breath) it’s the getting started that’s the trick.

  16. Ella, I love your little house! It’s super cute. We are still in the process of building our tiny house (got set back when I found out I was pregnant last fall but now we’re back on track and moving along). I was wondering though, where did you get your tub! I’ve been trying to help my husband find a suitable idea for a shower and when I stumbled across your idea I thought, ‘how perfect this would be! Especially with a little one’ anywho… just thought I would ask, I’ve started searching the web, but I want to make sure whatever I get is plenty durable and long lasting. By the way, love the yellow door.

  17. Hi Ella, thank you SO much for documenting your whole process!! I’m in the same position as you were. Looking at housing options in a very expensive Aussie city saw me look at tiny houses. No one has ever built one here in Australia so your blog has been extremely helpful. I just have one question if you could be so generous! What do you do with your grey water?? Do you have a water tank? Or let it flow free?? Thanks in advance.

    Btw I featured you on my blog for my readers in oz to check you out. Please let me know if you have a problem with it and ill take it down!!

  18. Your bathroom looks fantastic! We’re contemplating how to tackle ours, and I’ve seen a lot of people raving about yours. I was wondering how your shower walls are holding up? Do they get wet at all? We would love to do oiled cedar on our walls, but were concerned about moisture / soap scum. We might go with the trough option, but it seems like it might not drain well, too. Anyway, if you’d care to share I’d love to hear if you have any advice! esther dot fredrickson at gmail dot com

    • They are holding up quiet admirably. Though granted, I don’t use my shower every day. Family has an outdoor shower down the road and I’m usually just out of the ocean and all sandy. I do also take super short showers, so when I do I’ve never had issues with too much moisture.

  19. Our door for our bathroom is two very old woven pieces of fabric (which I love) They are hung from a rod with clip rings…so any piece of fabric could be a curtain, or, in this case…a door. It was never intended to be permanent, but that was 35 years ago…and the fabric is lovely…:) (the fabric isn’t damaged by the clips, either.)

  20. Love your house! I plan to build one next year…do you have a link for the hexagon toilet plans? I googled my eyes out and cannot find them. Thanks!

  21. What size is your bathroom? I’m making my floor plan now and if you could give me your dimensions that would be awesome!

  22. Hi Ella, I have decided to use a tub in my bathroom. A practical question. I believe the drain for them is up on the side a bit. It looks like you have the drain in the bottom. That would work, but can you explain. How did you do that? Thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

