Little Yellow life…

Standard

Life in Little Yellow is wonderful. It’s actually very much like normal, but without the things that used to bug me about living in other people’s spaces. In fact, most everything that pissed me off or stressed me out in previous living situations is no longer problematic. I’m not stepping on anyone’s toes, I can move or change whatever, whenever, and everything I love is organized all nice-like under one roof.

Basically? I love my house. I had planned on loving it so it’s not a surprise, but I feel so relieved that I genuinely do because this would be a very extensive experiment if I didn’t.

It’s like the whole thing is one big relief. It’s a relief to have a simpler life. It’s a relief to have less things. It’s a relief to be compact and contained. Like a hug, I like to think that my house is quite like a hug.

The timing of my move north has been so serendipitous it’s crazy. 3 days after arriving, I had a job, made an awesome friend, and met my awesome boyfriend who happens to think Little Yellow is as great as I do. He’s a do-er and a fix-it type who really gets things done, a wonderful presence to have around.

So! Here’s a breakdown of how it’s going. If I’ve missed something, ask away!

Living situation:

I live on a little ranch down the hill from my landlords’ house in a pretty wee field with a nice set of bushes and trees just beside; a perfectly adequate distance so as to be totally left on my own. I have decent cell reception in my house, but no internet. Not having it was sort of a shock at the start, but appears to be very good for me. I get way more done and am far more creative without it that with. I have family close by anyway, so it gives me a grand excuse to visit.

My boyfriend is a friend of my landlords’ son, so he comes and goes without bother and there’s plenty space to fit several cars comfortably. I pay rent each month and work off a little by cleaning stalls a few hours a week, which I actually kind of enjoy. There’s something vaguely reflective and therapeutic about shoveling horse shit.

Storage:

Storage and space in this house amaze me. I have many things inside, but I don’t feel cramped and don’t feel the need to fill it any further. Everything I’ve needed to find a spot for has one.  It sounds a bit ridiculous to write it out, but all I can say is that it feels big to me.

It feels so big that I can barely think of Little Yellow as being as small as she is, and certainly not tiny. There were 4 people eating dinner in here the other night (myself included) and it felt no different than having 3 people for dinner anywhere else.

Maybe it’s a magical house. Like that wacky carpet bag Mary Poppins had, where you could fill it far past it’s apparent capacity and still have room for your umbrella. Except my house isn’t made of carpet.

Food and water storage:

As you may know, I decided not to have a refrigerator in my house. Mostly because I didn’t feel I need one, but also because being without saves a goodly amount of electricity and makes you more creative with shopping lists and leftovers.

This is something that I didn’t experiment with before leaving the driveway, so my first attempt at fridge-free food cooling came after the first trip to the store. I had read good things about pot-in-pot (zeer) methods but unfortunately for me this did not work at all in my coastal climate. It failed spectacularly at keeping anything I put in there colder than house temperature and the terra cotta flower pot began to sprout some pretty disconcerting mold after a week or so. Conclusion? Nope.

So when my boyfriend came home one day with a standard cooler full of block ice, I begrudgingly went with it. It’s not the most beautiful thing I’ve ever laid eyes on, but it works and it aint molding.

I also didn’t think much about drinking water. The hoses I bought are potable, but what comes out tastes nothing like something you’d actually want to drink. After re-filling plastic bottles for a while, I now have a pitcher system filled periodically by a beautiful 3 gallon jug with a copper handle that my boyfriend made (he’s a metal fabricator).

Kitchen:

My kitchen is wonderous. Wonderful. Wonder…empty. Well, not empty. Thought there might be another ‘wonder’ word, guess not. Would wonder-empty be the opposite of wonderful? Everything about my kitchen suits me very well. I have never a lack of counterspace, all my things are nicely organized, my dishes drip directly from my hanging rack to the sink, and I can cook anything that can be made with 2 burners. In theory.

Actually I do cook a lot now that I have someone to cook for, and my stove does a very admirable job. It smells more than I’d like it to, I think that’d be my only complaint. My boyfriend has recently introduced me to the marvel of cast iron pans and I cook mostly everything in one these days. Seriously, a pan you don’t have to wash? Sign me right the hell up.

Shower:

That shower is pretty darn great. You just have to step a little higher and squeeze a little tighter than normal, but my yellow curtains are such a nice sight from in there :) I’ve barely used it since I go in the ocean every day, but it’s there for when I need it and still gets used for its bathroom sink function.

The only thing I might have done differently is to make the drain angle down somehow so the water would be better directed out. As it is now, the water ends up pooling a little on the sides.

Toilet:

Ah, my toilet. Such a lovely thing it is… It does look a little lovely, actually. I rebuilt the horrific hexagonal box around it the day before I left the driveway, out of nice 1x redwood left over from my fascia boards. I’ll have you know that wooden toilets can be quite sightly :D As far as function, it’s honestly not that bad. I really resented this part of my house for a while, but I have to say that it has become very ordinary to me now.

It don’t believe it to smell more than any other form of toilet would in so small a space; a little earthy if anything. Sawdust-y, you might say. I also have 3 windows at the hitch (bathroom) end of my house, and any whiffs one might want to waft away are gone within 10 minutes of their opening. Nifty, eh?

Sleeping loft:

I love my loft. I love it so much that if I have to sleep away for so much as a night I get at least a little sad. When it’s sunny in the mornings, my entire ceiling fills up with buttery yellow light that shines through the crystals in my windows and casts a thousand rainbow beads across my walls. Did I mention that there’s an ocean view from my window? It’s a small section of the ocean and there’s a house, a hill and a tree in the scene, but it’s still an ocean view and THAT is cool.

Cleaning:

I can honestly say that I’m not a very tidy person. It’s one of those things that’s followed me around my entire life and seemed to make everything I inhabit for any amount of time look like a freak hurricane passed through. Without fail, my spaces have ALWAYS been a tip. Which is why I’m so bemused that it’s not that way at all in my house. There is something about it that just makes me want to clean.

I sweep my floors, wash my dishes, scrub my counters, organize and tidy on a totally regular basis. I keep my clothes folded, I don’t throw things on the floor, and I fuss over the littlest things left out. My car? Total mess. Not likely ever to change, but my house? Golden. I’m actually quite the homemaker :D

Expansion and more expansion:

When my darling yellow door got made, I remember one of the selling points my neighbour mentioned about the wood we used being that it was extremely dry, and therefore unlikely to warp. In the exceptionally dry climate of Frazier Park, this was totally true. No warp-age whatsoever.

Of course then I move to a soggy, coastal climate and that’s the end of that. It started out that I just couldn’t close it quite right. Then the next day I could close it and then the day after that I couldn’t get it open again. By the time I stopped procrastinating and finally got around to it, we had to cut nearly an inch off the lock side because the tongue and groove boards had expanded so much.

That meant taking out the plates, knob and lock, skilsawing the length, resetting all the hardware and putting it back up again. And sticking some seriously long screws at both ends to keep that thing from thinking it can change, ever again. Expansion sucks. The only plus side is that my floor used to squeak something terrible when you first walked in and now it’s silent as fully expanded wood with no freakin’ place to move :D

Working on this project through the build year, I got so bogged down in the process that I think I almost forgot that when it was done it would be my home. Every time I drive in and see the tiny little A frame smiling at me with its tiny little porch light I get all proud and fuzzy.

I’ve found my house to be an unusual crossroads of exactly what I wanted and exactly what I needed. Perhaps I’m still in the honeymoon phase with Little Yellow, but I wouldn’t live in anything else for the world.

About ellaharp

I am a musician and artist just out of college. During the last year of my degree in Scotland I caught the bug and have since become infatuated with the practical coziness of tiny houses. I worked my tail off, saved my money and, despite my complete lack of carpentry know-how, I shall build one, it shall be marvelous, and I shall call it Little Yellow :)

81 responses »

  1. I recently found your blog and read up on your journey to create it- so glad to see living in it is as wonderful as you thought! You did a wonderful job and I really love your aesthetic.

    • Ella, I love your little Fencl. Very nicely done. I have a dream… one day to own a wee house myself. I’m 44 w/ a husband and daughter so maybe something a little bigger ;-) But I love your spirit. I did have a question though. You said you had 4 people over for dinner. Where did you eat? I only see the small desk near the window seat. I did love imagining the light coming through you crystals in the loft. I’m a crystal nut myself. But I only enhance where the energy is good ;-) Thank you for sharing your adventure with the world at large. You are leaving a beautifully small carbon foot print. And I agree less is more. Carpe diem, Lori

      • Hi Lori! Two sat on one side of the desk at the window seat and two sat on the other side, on the little storage box seats. (I have 4 but when there are only 2 people needing them we stack them so they are taller!) Sorry for the late reply!

  2. I love reading about your new way of life! Little Yellow is just exactly as it should be, for you… I often fantasize about creating my own little space, and you are just fuelling the fire :-) Great job, and thanks for sharing!

  3. Beautiful!!! Glad to know you and Little Yellow are getting along in your new environment. I really wish I had your view… Not likely to have one in Atlanta! :D

  4. That’s a great catch-up post, EllaHarp! We were all anxious to hear how things are going!

    Good fix on the door, girl!

    Also, about getting used to the no internet, the no refrigerator, the no this-and-that….. you really CAN and DO learn quickly that you really don’t need things that you previously thought you couldn’t do without, don’t you? Amazing, isn’t it?

    Only if more of us would actually TRY to give up the things that are holding us back, that clutter our hearts, our souls, and our minds….. we, too, might then be free to actually LIVE!

    So many of us don’t know you; but thanks to your posts here, we feel like we do know a little about you. To lots of us, you are like a distant niece or cousin or granddaughter.

    Even though we will never actually know you, remember you have many readers who are pulling for you, rooting for you, and want to see you live the life of your dreams!

    Thanks to Little Yellow, you are off to a GREAT start!

    All the best to your continued success,

    Wendell

      • Hi Ella Jenkins,
        I am a Canadian student from Montreal Studying in the field of Illustration and Graphic design in Dawson College. I am working on a final year assignment where I must create a new culture magazine. The subject I choose to work on is tiny spaces/movable houses. I believe this is the life for the future. May I photography and or quote part of your articles in my homework. The assignment will be used for school only, seen by the teachers and me. I could also use it as a portfolio piece if you grant me the permission. I would appreciate your help. I can submit a letter from my school if ever this is necessary
        I will e-mail you next week if ever I did not receive a message back because I understand that you might be busy.
        Peace,

        You can reach me by e-mail at j_charles_80@hotmail.com
        Jeffry Charles
        Dawson College
        Illustration and Design final year

  5. Great post! Congrats!!! The only thing missing is your two adorable little kitty’s. Where are they? Why did you decide not to bring them?

      • Ella , I’m a 65 year-old grandpaw whose been building things all my life …I’m amazed at your tenacious spirit and obvious God-given talent …wish my grandkids found the pride of building things with their hands as you obviously have ..you know Christ was the son or a carpenter ? …honorable endeavor , thanks for sharing !

  6. Regarding a fridge… have you considered an icebox? That was an answer to cold food storage before electricity. You can still find them at antique stores sometimes, or you could probably make your own. They used to be made fairly beautiful wooden boxes. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Icebox or http://www.grannyscupandsaucer.com/2010/10/antique-ice-box-added-to-inventory/ give some examples. Instead of blocks of ice from the river, you could use bags of ice cubes from the store. When my electric went off this summer, three bags of ice kept the food frozen for several days in my dorm size fridge. Granted, I kept the door shut until I made up my mind what I wanted, then grabbed it and shut the door quickly, and I didn’t put things in while they were still hot. But it worked amazingly well!

  7. Yay! So happy that your life is unfolding with such golden sunshine. So sweet. I just moved into my tiny house this month too so reading about your marveling feels like a mirror is being held up to my own experience. Thank you for sharing! I especially relate to the being more tidy than usual, feeling a sense of ease that I am want for nothing, and also the comment about being so caught up in the process of building that part of you forgets that yes indeed what you are building is going to be your home! Welcome home. Though my experience with tiny house building has been colored with the tragedy of my partners tiny house burning down, your post reminds me to still be joyful in the success of my own tiny home. Blessings to you, your little yellow, and the next chapter of your lovely life. -Jenn

    • Yeah, I couldn’t believe how organized I am now! A friend of mine who hasn’t met my house yet just asked me today ‘is it a tip yet?’ VERY excited to show her it’s NOT! Blessings to you too Jenn, and to Kim. The story makes my heart ache, but it seems you’ve both risen from it very admirably. Happy holidays!

  8. Hi Ella, I was just wondering how you were settling in, and it is so good to see how happy you are there–I’m looking forward very much to a month or so from now when I’ll also start living in my tiny (though it DOESN’T feel that way does it?!) house as a single gal. Can I ask you what heat source you use if any? And do you compost your humanure materials or just dispose of them and how? I was thinking of using a plastic bag liner in mine if I’m parked where I can’t access a compost area. Thanks again for sharing your journey, it has meant a lot to me.

    • I have no heat source, actually. I though I might be able to do without and it seems I’m right. Gets a little cold, but if you wrap up and cook dinner the house is totally tolerable. Plus, coastal California doesn’t get all that cold anyhow, far better than Scotland! The toilet matter gets double compostable bagged and taken to a waste treatment facility. Wish I could compost it properly where I’m living! Excited for you to live in your tiny house too!!! Best of luck :D

      • Ella, I have thoroughly enjoyed following your build this last year, it gives me confidence for when I get to do my “Wee-Casa” that I am designing. Although mine’ll be a bit different than yours ’cause I want to be completely off-grid and able to anywhere on this continent I can pull it too so that means, water, fridge, heat will be an absolute necessity. I am trying to design where I expel only grey water (so I don’t have to tank that nasty black stuff back to town), hince the biolet, I will have to have potable water storage under the trailer, I want to run entirely on solar for 12V DC LED lighting (battery backup) & am looking at propane refrigerator/freezers for my food storage and the Dickinson propane heaters.
        A few Ideas on your peeves – Have you looked at the Biolet pottys? They are swedish design, need no electricity and fully composts within the unit. You can use it in the garden when your done!!! check out http://www.biolet.com for more info. Also, your door may give you the opposite trouble if you go back into a drier climate, to fix this you may need to install weatherstripping around the door (EPDM will last the longest) after the shrinkage takes place. You won’t have to remove it because as the wood expands again in wetter areas it will squish the weather stripping, providing a tight seal but will still allow the door to open & close properly. Finally, as for draining your shower properly…have you thought about setting in some tile in the bottom & using the grout to set a new slope? Just be sure to use a polymer grout so that it will flex, just make the grout ever so thicker on the opposite end of the drain and the water will go…ta-da…to the drain! http://pebbletilemosaics.com has this really cool river-rock tile that would really compliment your look. Actually, if your in an area with pebble rock I would think you could use that.
        Anyway, I’ve really enjoyed your blog and I hope you will still give us all occasional posts on your life in little yellow.

  9. I followed your building updates with much interest and pleasure. Great to hear how happy you are with the finished house, and how nicely your new life in it is developing. Any harp gigs in your new town? I was hoping that your restaurant job might also include that. Also, how did you find your landlord?

    • Working on getting more harp stuff, slowly but surely! And I will be playing in my restaurant for Christmas Eve, so that’s good! My landlords are friends of friends of my Dad and stepmom who live up here. Luck, it was!

  10. Living without a refrigerator is much quieter living. They run on and off 24 hours a day between cooling and then defrosting. They are just noisy machines!

    Piece of quiet is piece of mind!

    You go girl…

    Dennis

  11. Beautiful! I am so glad that you are willing to keep blogging and giving us the nitty gritty of every day. A blissful everyday it sounds like! And that young man of yours sounds very sweet.

  12. So glad you posted again. Was wondering how you were getting along, down your new life road. You are strangely and thankfully a part of a lot of people’s lives. I just recently purchased a 20′ Clark Cortez rv and I’m beginning restoration on the roof, it’s only problem. I’ve been dreaming about living in a wee space all my long 57 yrs of life, I think I must thank you, THANK YOU for the serendipitous courage you’ve given me to follow a dream.

  13. Thanks for writing about actually LIVING in the house. Your build progress was fun and your love of living in the house is helpful to those who are also considering a venture like this. Thanks also for your honesty. Enjoy!

  14. So proud of you! I love that you had a dream and worked on it and worked on it and now you are living it! Plus your dream is quite modest in a way, to have a realistic dream of your own home, yet quite spectacular in another way because you made it all come true and it is leading to other dreams and new chapters in your life. .

  15. So many people wondering about you, including me! Building a tiny house is one adventure but living in one is entirely another; thanks for sharing a detailed account of your life in tinyyellow. Sounds like you’re fashioned quite a good life!

  16. Hi!

    I am so glad to see your journey with LY is going well! I am in love with every feature of your home. I plan to make a Tumbleweed of my own, someday in the future.

    I was curious and this might be a slightly intrusive question. What do you estimate the total cost (was)is to build LY?

    When I read your first post when you first started, I really liked your money saving philosophy. I am trying very hard to do the same. How much would you advise a poor graduate student to save? I plan to get building in 3-4 years.

    Congratulations! The pictures are wonderful and the best ones I have seen of a TTH thus far!

    • Hi Ella. I love your little house, and have enjoyed reading some of your posts. I will surely read more! I’m curious. I love the layout of your house. Did you do you your design or alter one that is out there? The outside looks a little like one of the tumbleweed houses, but the inside is very different. I’m deciding whether to purchase plans or design my my own. Would you be open to sharing yours? Also, do you welcome visitors if I were in the area–I’d love to actually be inside a tiny house (has yet to happen)? I’m in Colorado, so may be a little while before I make it out. Warmly, Elena

  17. Hey Ella, definitely look into dry ice, and as someone mentioned earlier iceboxes. ‘Dry Ice’ (solid carbon dioxide) blocks will stay frozen for a very, very long time especially if insulated well. Also, how are you getting your electricity, from a hookup with the landlords electric?

  18. Ella, I’m so happy to see the new pics of where you are settled in Little Yellow. It makes a mother PROUD!

    Ricky and I miss having LY in our driveway, and of course we miss your presence in our home. But we are HAPPY for you and your new life.

    What’s the job of parents but to inspire their children’s independence, imagination, and the ability to fulfill their dreams? In this respect, you’ve earned us an A+!

    And to all the kind people who have commented and received inspiration from Ella, know that you are not alone. She has been an inspiration to us and caused each of us to spread our wings.

    Action is King! Take action toward your dreams. That’s how dreams are truly made into reality.

    Your comments, thoughts and good wishes have propelled her project forward more than you’ll know!

    Mum & Rick

  19. This is really great. I want to learn more and see how it goes for you. Maybe, at some point, this would work for me. Very interesting indeed as I am an artist too and need a lot of space to work without the hassle of a separate work loft.

  20. Hi Ella – I found your blog through Yahoo. I am really impressed by your life choices! One suggestion, a lot of people will get value from your blog – you should consider adding a PayPal link that would allow people to chip in a donation. I have seen this on similar blogs & think it could help out with your finances.

    Good luck!

  21. I love it its allways been a dream of mine to retire and do just what you have done. Did i miss a site for the kit you used? If there was one, i would love to have it if you could send it to my email . I want to be able to possibly make one and take it on the road and if i found that one great spot park it and here i would live lol. Well good luck in your days to come i envy you soooooo much ;)

    Chuck

    Ps, LOVE THE PICS

  22. Imagine my surprise when i logged onto my computer today and my yahoo homepage comes up and low and behold there is Ella and Little Yellow! Very cool Ella! Congrats!

  23. Now we know where all the Hippies went! The all went to California and had children, but then they grew up, and bought a 3/4 ton 4 door pick up!……………………..nice house trailer

  24. Your house and living concept is cool. If you want internet, I have some technical knowledge on how to add it. There are antennas that can pick up a WIFI signal miles away so you might be able to share someone’s WIFI signal that you trust but a large signal also attracts trouble from people who might want to hack into your computer.

    http://www.l-com.com/productcenter.aspx?id=2005

    If you email me, maybe I can help you.

  25. Hi! I love this idea. I think I would have to have a *little* more space cuz I have tons of projects but I’ve been looking at some of the cabin sheds with a vague idea of finishing the inside and making it my get away hangout if not a permanent home. Anyway I think what you have done is awesome. go in peace and joyful Solstice and Yule to you!

  26. Hi Ella, my name is Kelly. I just read an article about you on yahoo and was surprised to hear that you had parked in Half Moon Bay. I actually live in Montara and I have been really curious for a while to see a Tumbleweed house in person. I feel slightly inappropriate asking this of a complete stranger, but is there any way that I might be able to take a look at your house? And if not, that is completely understandable! (But I should let you know that there would totally be cookies in it for you).

    Thanks!
    – Kelly

  27. The house is amazing (of course) but the truly amazing thing is… you, yourself! Most of us wouldn’t tackle a project like this even if there’s nothing stopping us, but you went right ahead and did it! Brought many smiles to my face to read this and see these pictures.The colors and craft are wonderful. It made me think how incredibly good for us all it would be if we could all learn to build (and live in) small homes like this. And I am completely impressed that you kept the internet at a distance. A beautiful idea realized.

  28. What an amazing article. I love it. I wish I had the stones to do it. I used to stay at KOA Campgrounds all the time. I always said if I ever had the extra cash I would but one of those little cabins! Kudos! Very cool

  29. What a wonderful journey so far. Your sense of accomplishment must be so gratifying. Your story is only surpassed by the photo’s which you included – a picture is truly worth a thousand words. You captured so much more that a unique building process.

    Your story is very well written and easy to follow. When I saw the Mrs. Myer’s Clean Day Liquid Hand Soap – Geranium Scent- next to your kitchen sink, I thought it was a perfect match. Thank you for sharing your story and may you continue to follow your dreams.

  30. Please continue to update everyone with pictures and news on your house! I have absolutely no woodworking or mechanical skills, but you have given me a monumental amount of inspiration to do something similar some day. You, sincerely, look to be leading an absolutely amazing life. :)

  31. Seems like you are on the cutting edge of a trend toward downsizing and being creatively self-reliant. I’m happy your story got aired on yahoo, and to see that it has caught so many people’s attention (including my own). I wonder, have you been turned on to permaculture? Particularly permaculture systems as opposed to solely perma-agriculture might interest you… Nice work with the photography as well…I particularly liked the shot of the tree against the crepuscular moon in the Jun 4 post!

  32. I have been casually following your blog for the past year or so and I just wanted to say congratulations on the completion of your tiny house – you seem so happy and set up! I saw the feature on Yahoo’s homepage today and it made me smile, having followed the process and seen the results, you are totally awesome!

  33. Hey Ella,
    Great pictures and what a spectacular location for Little Yellow! I’m very envious. That’s exactly the type of location I want for my tiny home (once it’s built).

    You may not remember me, but we met at your open house in Santa Cruz (Soquel). I was the guy who monopolized much of your time there. Thank you for your patience and for cheerfully answering my endless questions.

    I may have missed it, but what about using your roof for rainwater catchment and then using that water for showers and dishes?

    I’m still looking for a location to build and then locate my tiny home. If you hear of any possibilities in your area please let me know. I’m happy to pay rent and/or do work of any sort, so it could be very beneficial for a landowner with some unused land.

    Thanks for everything. You’re an inspiration to us all!
    Andrew

  34. I love your story! It is so inspiring. I read through most of your blog from the construction through the move. At least I looked through the pictures. My family and I live on the east coast and we have big plans to move to South Dakota to live in the black hills national forest. We hope to live a very modest life with our kids and teach them how to live in such a remote area being creative and environmentally friendly. I love the tiny home idea and I hope one day that I’m taking pictures of my daughter and my husband building her a tiny house. Enjoy the freedom and happiness it brings you!

  35. I love your little house. I lived for more than 4 years in my motorhome, a 26′ GMC Classic and I loved it. She is a real beauty all repainted in white and silver, a head turning. I want to redo the interior… I already installed a new oversized fridge and a new gaz stove (which is cover by my giant cutting board most of the time). Would like to change the kitchen counter that is a big bit blah… (the previous owner painted it dark green) and extend it to have more counter space and the cupboard’s doors which need a good facelift (they are nice but they could be nicer)… and reinstall my office desk with all my office gizmos as I am a writer-journalist-photographer-etc… so I can work.

    Now, I am living in a rented house as I took out my storage that was accumulating dust for 5 years. I am finding back nice photos, little treasures of my past and… books. I have a lot — I mean a lot — of books. So many that I could start a library and make $$$ renting them :) I will have to get rid of many but… I love books… so, it is difficult.

    As for the kitchen, I don’t have a lot of dishes and glasses… just what I need but… I am a vegan/raw and need my VitaMix, food processor, juicer and… dehydrator so… lots of counter space or lots of imagination to fit everything properly and in a way to not having for 1/2 hour to install everything to make green smoothies or juices (I don’t have this patience anymore). Have to think about the dehydrator too, the humming of it working for hours to dehydrate crackers and else and… the light smell… mostly when I do my dehydrated onions and garlic… sssshhhhhhhhh…. an exhaust pipe maybe :)

    I would like to find a place where I can park her for a long period of time (as even if I love living in it, I hate driving it with a passion), have sewage, electricity and runing water… and internet.. and a little garden maybe? Not easy to find, and rv sites are so etricate and costly in summer.

    You made me think seriously on what I could do to downsize, remodel my motorhome and go back to live in it. Like you said… live a life simple, without clutter and just enjoy every day to the max. Stop worry about all the bad things and the xtreme high stress that is happening in my life for the moment… cut the bridges… repatch my heart with duck tape… and finaly live for myself, take time for ME… at last.

    Thank you to have given me the taste to go back to a life I loved :)

    Wish you a wonderful New Year

  36. Love your yellow door! One of these days I’ll get the time to build one of these amazing houses to live in. Totally a bucket list item! You did a great job with the layout, and I admire your nerve to go without a fridge, as I don’t think I could do it! Bookmarking your blog for later daydreaming <3

  37. Having trouble posting so apologies if this is a double post.
    Great blog. I have really enjoyed posts. They have been fun and informative and what more can you ask of any blog?!! Sounds you have moved on to yet another exciting chapter of your life so before signing out I’d like to offer my thanks and wish you the absolute best.

  38. December 16 seems a long time ago. Hope you are happy and well. Have thoroughly enjoyed following your journey. Have you discovered your next adventure? You have a lot of very diverse fans. Have a wonderful life!
    p.s. where’d you get your boots?

  39. I’m beyond impressed Ella. Little Yellow is beautiful! I renovated a house at 21 years-old and built a big house (3,000 sq feet) at 34. At 50+ I’m ready for a tiny house and have been since I sold my “dream” house. My husband doesn’t exactly share my dream for a tiny house yet but we’re workin’ on it ; ) We currently live at the ocean in Northern CA (Bodega Bay). I’m wondering if you’re close. I would LOVE for my 16 year-old son to meet you and see what’s possible. I’ll be following your blog sweet pea. All the best to you ~

  40. Hi Ella,

    I found your blog through the Tumbleweed Houses website and I’ve just finished reading it from start to finish. So firstly, well-done. The house it beautiful. It reminds me of a cozy little faery tale cottage tucked away in the woods somewhere. Secondly, the cats are adorable. Misty and I have two Himalayan cats ourselves named Luna and Lt. Sebastian Underfoot. 3rd welcome to ranks of cast iron cooks and Dutch Oven chefs. If you can have a campfire outside of Little Yellow, cooking in a cast iron camp Dutch Oven (those are the ones with the legs on them instead of the flat bottoms) is really fun and outdoor cooking gives you the biggest kitchen in the world on cool spring evenings and warm summer nights. I’ve really been enjoying reading your blog, it’s become something I look forward to so I’m always happy to see new entries and to see how you and the cats are doing.

  41. Pingback: Inspiration…shared | Scattering the light

  42. I love reading about Little Yellow. I am now in the autumn of my life and in the past 15 years have downsized twice. Am contemplating doing it again. Even if I don’t go the tiny house route, I am gaining inspiration from you and others who are living a minimalist life. It is really allowing me to think about what is important enough to keep and what I can let go.

  43. Ella, thank you for posting your complete experience here for us to read and view. I have wanted to do this for such a long time and now at 53, I have only one child at home with me, she is 10 at the time of this writing. I look at your courage and think it’s time for me to put on my big girl panties and try it myself. :)
    You have truly inspired me and everyone else here! You’re a blessing to us all. I love your little-yellow-door. My daughter wants one exactly like yours :D
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

