Measure twice, cut once…

Standard

When it rains, it pours, and when it pours, you really regret chucking out all the old tarps three days ago. It being around 80 before noon, I did not buy a 20ft tarp at the hardware store the other day so when my mom woke me up yesterday morning with the delightful news we scrambled to cover the floor framing with sheets of plywood and borrowed smaller tarps from the pickup truck and off the horse carriage. But really, rain? Didn’t see that one coming with the temperatures this week.

 Fortunately, the weather turned much more favorable in the afternoon and we were able to finish the aluminum flashing and start thinking about walls. Not so fortunately, the wall measurements in the plans are also set up around different sized wheel wells so it was back to the drawing board. With my stepdad’s and my generally lousy mathematical skills, this was a period of much head scratching and brain straining but we prevailed and created a very lovely back wall at long last.

My dad’s carpenter friends at work lent him a crazy loud nail gun that we’ve been using to secure the framing together thus far and today, on wall 2, we found out what happens when you screw up and need to get one out. It was actually less getting it out and more sawing it off so it was a good incentive to be a wee bit more careful in the future.

Miscalculations, a few bouts of cursing and working out new calculations took up most of the day but the floor framing still hadn’t been lag screwed to the trailer boards yet so we got started on that in the evening. Seeing as I’m smaller than my dad, I took the job of getting under the thing to drill them in and we got a good number down before it got dark.

It’s been great to have my dad and all his nifty power tools around this week to get things going. He works 3 weeks on, 1 week off so it’ll be a while before we’ll get this much consecutive time to devote to my little project but I hope to get as much as possible done in his absence. I also hope to keep all my fingers on so lets keep a tally, shall we?

About ellaharp

I am a musician and artist just out of college. During the last year of my degree in Scotland I caught the bug and have since become infatuated with the practical coziness of tiny houses. I worked my tail off, saved my money and, despite my complete lack of carpentry know-how, I shall build one, it shall be marvelous, and I shall call it Little Yellow :)

13 responses »

  1. Okee doke Ella. I am way behind. First of all, feel free to post a wall notice on our FB wall over at http://www.facebook.com/tinyrev . Secondly, I need to know more. HAHAHA. What size is your trailer? What building plan are you using? Are you making your own plan? Are you learning some building skills? HAHAHAHA. You are a musician? What kind? I reckon a tiny house person should be a fiddle player just to finish out the whole misperception of us as some sort of backwoods looneys. HAHAHAHA.

    Anyway, you are doing great. Keep it up. Oh, and where are you posting your pics so I can look at them all instead of one by one. As it seems you are going to end up with a bunch of ’em. HAHAHAHA

    • It’s an PJ trailers 18′ car hauler, my first post raves about it if you’d like more information 🙂 I’ve bought Fencl house plans from Tumbleweed that we’re trying to stick to but altering a bit because the wheel wells are so different on my trailer. I am not very versed in the workings of this system here and I’ve only just sorted out how to get pictures into the posts so I’ll aim to make a separate section with them in it. I play the harp, but I keep wanting to take up the banjo, perhaps the time has come…

      • That’s awesome! All of it. I was wondering if you have contacted Tumbleweek just to let them know about the wheel well situation. I have a feeling that they might help you get around that dilema in some way.. You play the Harp?? How cool is that? I believe that this entire project is going to catapult you into something exciting for your future!

    • Drew, that’s cute. Fiddle.. Love it. Hope ya stick around these here parts with the crew…heehee… We have the easy job. Just peering in at Ella’s progress.. To Infinity and Beyond!! 🙂

  2. hey guys I just bumped with your blog, I am happy for your adventure on the project, go on this will be rewarding no matter what. Simple life has so much more meaning than a fancy expensive house. I support your idea 100%, keep on going !!

    Namaste

  3. It’s beginning to look a lot like progress!! Hip hip horray!!! I love how you overcome obstacles!! I was wondering how you were able to keep this blog up, figuring out the ins and outs of how to post photos and work on your home… You are busting it out girl!! Great job. Funny, I have two tarps sitting in my trunk that I purchased from the 99c Store!!! I saw them there one day and thought, “These may come in handy one day!!” A lot of good that does you, right?? Anyway, I’m glad you remedied that little surprise on the fly. Keeps you on your toes doesn’t it? Breathe in Positivity… Breathe out Negativity… til next time.. Be well. 🙂

  4. Sounds like you’re learning my Dad’s favorite saying: “Measure twice, cut once; ’cause you can always cut more off, but it’s really, really hard to cut some back on.” I’ve only read a little of your blog but I have a feeling you’ll be very pleased with the final outcome. Congratulations on your endeavor!

  5. Hi Ella
    I am Zac’s moms Cousin Chris and Cathy just showed me your little yellow door site – Really love it
    I have also built my own place while living in an american indian teepee> No web site but do feel we might be kindred spirits. My Daughter Valentina give a big hello to Dumbo Aka Zac.

Leave a Reply

