Finishing the flooring…

Standard

I’m on a mission to get this part done. I had the help of a friend who gave time to lend a hand yesterday and with my dad’s skills as well today we are oh so close.

First came the tape to cover all the seams in the flashing. The aluminum tape I had previously used was pretty bad to begin with and was rendered useless after a few days of moisture and temperature changes so I pulled it all off and went for some super sticky form of duct tape my dad had in the garage. It also sticks to itself really well, so there’s a good thing to watch out for.

Tumbleweed recommends using corner braces for all the floor joists so I bought what I thought would be enough and nailed them in. Well, I was a vast 35 short and after yet another jaunt to the hardware store, got both sides of all joists in question covered.

From these corner braces I learned two important lessons: 1: if you count how many of something you need before you buy it, you might just make it 2 whole days without going to the store. 2: Hammers make little differentiation between steel nails and finger nails, particularly if you have a short attention span. My poor wee thumb got the brunt of the exchange so I guess this starts off the tally and it aint in my favour.

Putting in the wool insulation was rather rewarding and though I had heard it was time consuming, it took much less than taping the flashing or nailing the corner braces. It is also fantastically fluffy and there were far fewer incidences of finger crushing.

Today came to putting the 3/4 “ plywood down. Ambitiously, we figured we’d get a couple of walls done as well but I am realizing rapidly that it is wise not to figure on the side of ambition with this project. Just sorting out where to put the sheets of plywood so the edges would land on the floor joists took enough thought but we also had to cut spaces for the wheel wells and try to keep things vaguely square and level.

Darkness caught up with us after 3 of 5 sheets so we put off getting it all on until tomorrow, but the light at the end of the flooring tunnel shines with grandeur 🙂 I’ll be darn happy to cover this thing up and not think about it again!

Leave a Reply

