We got walls…

Standard

I am pleased to say that we did indeed get drier weather (if not warmer) and we did indeed get the walls on. In fact, I dare say today was a dream day in the world of carpentry.  The walls fit together like a perfect jigsaw puzzle. The sun shone brightly and for a while it even warmed things up enough so we could feel our fingers. We thought ahead for what we’d need and didn’t have to go to the hardware store. Through various tweaking and smacking boards with hammers I think we’ve made the thing remarkably square. The birds sang and the screwdriver never ran out of battery….too far, but this was undeniably our most successful and visually rewarding day of work. 

Because we built the walls in sections, I’ll need to bolt the joints together tomorrow but there are a ton of screws in so it feels pretty sturdy. Hopefully we’ll get a good portion of the plywood sheathing on as well and start the collar joists for the loft. My dad wrangled some 20 x 45, 6mil clear plastic sheeting and while cumbersome to work with, it is now doing a much better job at keeping the water out than our previous tarp-age. 

I feel an unmatched sense of accomplishment walking through the open door framing onto my floor where I can finally see the space I’ve had stuck in my head for so long laid out in front of me. It’s not very waterproof, being roofless, and I suppose the walls will need to get covered at some point but it’s still there; standing real and tangible.  You might say my house looks a bit like a house now 🙂 

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

