A bit of metal roofing…

Standard

My beautiful blackberry standing seam roof has finally gotten started today! Granted, we only got 3 panels on but we did start late after a trip to the hardware store and a very long instructional video on the process. There’s nothing like a swank construction fellow with that ‘boy, I sure am great’ appearance to tell you all about your metal roofing needs.

Of course this fellow had a far easier time of things because his roof was practically flat and he was able to saunter quite conveniently across it. My roof is a 12:12 pitch, and any attempted sauntering would be very short lived so I’m afraid the installation of it brings us back to those darn ladders. My dad was pretty concerned we wouldn’t be able to reach the top section of the panels without some form of scaffolding, but we managed today alright so it looks like we’re in the clear. I really don’t know how it’ll all work out come the ridge cap stage, though that’s a trouble for another day. 

It is bitingly cold here right now so we didn’t work after the sun went down, but the roofing behaved very nicely and I think we’ll have a good shot at actually getting the rest of the panels on the next full work day. My dad is just starting a period of 2 weeks off so I have high hopes of early starting, hammer weilding, knock-your-socks-off house progress in the coming times. It could happen…

12 responses »

  1. For the ridge, why not use your saddle or at least the saddle cloth or pad of cloth and straddle it. You could do the same for the rest of the roofing, one of you astride the ridge and one on the bottom pushing up. Just a thought and it would make a great pic. I do love your blog. Shame we cant do that size of trailer in the UK.

  2. Ella, just have to say I just stumbled over this blog and find it very enjoyable to read. You inspire me an 60+ old man to start on my own little house – though fixed – not on a trailer. Built with local material easy sourced here in Mozambique where i live. I’m looking for small houseplans right now and found the Tumbleweed site where I also found the link to Your blog.

    I look forward to follow Your completion on the project.

    Keep up the good work and a have a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

    Martin from Maputo, Mozambique

  3. Hi, just a note on the hinges,you can get those type from Lee Valley Tools. I am in the process of planning a art studio and am customizing a set of tumbleweed plans. I will also be building a etching press yo go with the studio. Have a nice Christmas.

  4. Little Miss…I have to say that I’m very jealous of your housing endeavor. I wish I could knock ten years off my life and do what you’re doing; but that would require me to give up my two kids so I guess I’ll stay where I am 🙂 You’re making such a wise decision for a young woman; congrats. This little house will not only provide sustainable living but the financial freedom for you to plan for a very comfortable future. You’re off to a great start. That said, I’m hoping you’ll give some insight on how to save for or finance a project such as this. While I fully intend to have my own tumbleweed someday, coming up with $20,000 or even half if I got creative with construction seems daunting. Did you already have the savings, did you finance…take out a small loan? Keep up the good work and I look forward to seeing your finished home.

    • Thanks for your encouragement! I was actually very lucky to be able to save what I (hopefully) need for my house without a loan. I’ve always been a bit frugal, but at college in Scotland I was very much so and saved most of what I made. I played my harp on street corners, made and sold jewelry and worked various food service jobs when I came home for periods of time. I also moved out of my parent’s house when I was 16 to start working so I still had some leftover from that. As soon as I knew a tiny house was what I wanted (July 2010) I got super determined and with every little thing I thought to buy, I’d have to consider what in my house that money could buy me instead. I think once you know what you really want then you just have to do everything you can to make it happen. I was fortunate to have help with college so I was able to save, but if a loan is all you can muster to finance your dream, I don’t see why you couldn’t pay it back once your costs are significantly lower. I wish you the very best!!!

  5. I’m checking back in — haven’t read your entries since Christmas – and this entry – your writing style – just makes me laugh with delight! Totally love it.

    As for my tiny house dream, I just had a barely used (and used by a family member at that) Nature’s Head marine toilet dropped into my lap for free, and although I am not 100% positive I will actually DO a tiny house, I really WANT to, and the toilet is a critical component that came to me from out of nowhere.

    I’m taking it as a sign… am fervantly dreaming once again, (I own a real sized house that I will need to rent out or sell) and gathering my courage. You inspire me. Thank you for writing about your adventure!

Leave a Reply

