More roofing, more ladders…

Standard

After another day’s roofing, we have almost half the house covered in shiny, purple-y panels and it looks very nice indeed. I was keen on getting to the other side but the cursed screw gun batteries got us again and died before we’d even thought to recharge them. There are 3 going for different applications but when they go out, it’s kind of the end of the joy ride.

It also appears that my roof is going to be an obnoxious 2″ longer than the last of the 15 panels we thought would do it. Luckily, I have actually learned something from my previous mistakes and ordered 2 extra panels, so we’ll just have to perform a little surgery with the spiffy metal cutters. I say ‘just’…

On a brighter note, I am feeling slightly less terrified about the ladder situation. This may have a lot to do with the fact that my dad spent most of today standing on the bottom to make sure it didn’t get into it’s mind to go anywhere, but I can at least move up the rungs now without a 20 second pause between each to mentally prepare myself.

I’m quite liking this standing seam stuff, each panel gets screwed into the roof deck at one side before the next clicks over it, which leaves a lovely little ridge and hides the fasteners brilliantly. The only part I don’t like so much are the fancy, colour coated screws that go on at the top and require standing one step higher than I can reasonably justify on a ladder. That plus the angle of leaning that ensues make for a sort of general awkwardness that doesn’t get much better after 10 panels.

3 responses »

  1. Please exercise great care for yourself as you work from the ladders. There are excellent ladder use guidelines that can be found at any major ladder manufacturers website. It will only cost you about an hours time to read. A ladder fall injury can leave you with unwelcomed life changes that are much more severe than an errant hammer swing. Looking forward to a happy ending to your exciting and entertaining domicile adventure. Merry Christmas.

  2. I just found your blog the other day and I have been reading every chance I get. You are doing a great ob so far and you are an inspiration to me. I hope to be able to to this in the next few years.

    I don’t know if you are able or not…maybe even if you are able to borrow some extra batteries but one of the things I do is have double the amount I am using so as soon as one goes dead you can put it right on the charger and by the time the next goes dead the first is usually charged…

Leave a Reply

