Window borders and the painting of them…

Standard

The other night, my dad and I went to Lowes and choose the paint for my door (yellow, of course) and the window borders we’ve started making (teal). I’m happy to report that the paint department had quite a lovely selection of colours and much to my dad’s relief, I was able to pinpoint what I wanted without staying there to debate until the store closed.

We’ve made the window borders from good ole 2×4’s; the thought process being that the 1/2″ siding will go up against them but they’ll still stick out to show off the colour. Each window has a rim about 3/4″ off the sheathing, so we ran the wood through the table saw to create a little notch and they fit on nicely now.

Being an artist, I would have thought that the painting part would be an enjoyable change from screws, nails and saws, but there are so many shapeless, repetitive 2×4 cut offs that it feels a little like putting 4 coats of slow-drying paint on firewood.

The primer is what really gets my goat. It’s white, it has to go on all sides of every piece, and since it’s so very far from the colour I’m ideally aiming for, it is not very rewarding. It also shines clearly through the first layer of paint which results in an awkward sort of half teal, half white business.

The second coat just about covers it and after the third it’s totally gone, but it apparently takes 4 hours before another coat can be applied, so there’s plenty of time to admire the uncertain colour combination. Ah well, I’ve only 10 windows…

 

8 responses »

  1. Awesome color combo! I love yellow and teal together. I just ordered a custom messenger bag in teal, and light grey with yellow trim and it looks great. I’ll try to round up a photo to share.

    Where are you located? It looks like you’re in the mountains but no snow on the ground. We’ve had a light winter in California so far, so that’s no suprise I guess. Keep up the great work, thanks for sharing, you’re in the “home” stretch now.

  2. Ella,
    You can get your primer tinted a shade lighter than your final color choice. Then, it’s easy to see where you’ve top-coated, and it may only require two coats.

  3. I just found out about your blog from a Tumbleweed email a few days ago, and spent the evening reading thru your posts. Many good reminders. I took a Tumbleweed workshop in Dallas in November and the instructor (Dee Williams) stressed making the opening of the windows wider, but yours was a good reminder. I’ve put a Galvalume metal roof on my house and used a metal and tile underlayment vs tar paper, so it was great to see what you used. My roof wasn’t completely square so the roofer had to make adjustments to get it to fit. I looked up the wool insulation and hope it can be used in Louisiana. Great suggestion! I’d not heard of it before.

    I’ve dabbled in some carpentry work, but have gaps in my knowledge, so I’ve had my doubts about building a Tumbleweed on my own. I’m on the verge of taking some basic carpentry classes, but it seems like a lot of people build their own Tumbleweeds without much carpentry background. In hindsight, how much of this do you think you could have done without your Dad’s help? Did you know ahead of time that you’d have his help?

    Congrats on saving up the money to do your house! I’m inspired. Thanks for your blog.

    • Honestly, with my total non-carpentry background, I don’t think I could have done this without my dad. His tools and help have been so important that I can’t imagine trying to figure it out myself. I’m only finally reaching a point where I feel comfortable working on my own (as in, since yesterday!!) and it’s because of what he’s taught me that I’m able to do so.

      I knew from the start that I’d have to have his help to build my house, but I don’t think I even realized how important it would be. It was, essentially, the equivalent of carpentry classes so I would definitely recommend taking some before you start to familiarize yourself with the scary tools and method of approaching things. Or finding someone who can muddle through it with you, even if you’re at a loss for what to do, sometimes two thought processes can be much better than one! Best of luck šŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Tiny House Living – January 14, 2012 | Tiny House Living

Leave a Reply

