Roof finished…

Standard

Little Yellow is roofed! What a thought 🙂

My dad has been trying to work out a way of getting to the ridge without my having to clamber up there, but in the end I convinced him on the practicality of being able to access both sides, and to the roof I went. Although it’s nearly 14 feet from the ground, I found it far less nervewracking than being at an equal height on a ladder, if a bit more awkward.

I think the icing on the cake were the nearly identical looks of befuddlement directed toward my house by the two cars that made accidental turns down our cul de sac this afternoon. Guess this must not be the general method of roofing, but how the hell else are you supposed to get a ridge cap on a 12/12 roof pitch?

In the interest of repelling the ever-so-persistent entrance artist that is water, we put up lengths of sticky foam followed by some funny metal flashings called ‘z closures’ before the final cap.

So it’s more waterproof, the roofing company recommends the top of each panel be bent up about an inch before the foam and z closures are put on, but we’d missed this in our previous viewing of the installation guide and the amount of screws up there made the squeezing of any metal bending tool into the virtually non-existent space highly improbable.

Instead, we used strips of tape-like, tar-smelling window flashing to span the distance between the panels on either side of the ridge. Because they hang over by about 2 inches, any aspiring water that fights its way up should be directed straight off the other side and down again.

The ridge cap (or in this case, 2 overlapping 10’6 caps) got screwed into each panel rib and although they aren’t quite perfectly straight, they work well enough and I was happy to get both feet on the ground. It really wasn’t so bad up there, but even after a few hours I can imagine how people who rode long distances on wide horses must have felt back in the day.

About ellaharp

I am a musician and artist just out of college. During the last year of my degree in Scotland I caught the bug and have since become infatuated with the practical coziness of tiny houses. I worked my tail off, saved my money and, despite my complete lack of carpentry know-how, I shall build one, it shall be marvelous, and I shall call it Little Yellow :)

15 responses »

  1. Bet you are glad that’s done.. There are roof ladders that have hooks that hook on ridge. Some use ext ladders with window stand offs to hook over. Then tie off yourself and the ladder. still have to straddle like you did. Wore your skirt and tights– thought for sure it would be jeans this time.

    Get to the camper store yet? the horse trailer store maybe able to set you up, too. i like PPL online store for appliances and camper stuff. Amazon has a lot of solar and camp stuff. Better to buy local and have help with install ?’s.

    Suzanne and Jeff

  2. I’m interested in the roofing stuff as I see it in my future. Thanks for your post. So, I’m curious, how DID you get up to the ridge? Did you climb a tall ladder and sling your leg over the ridge?

  3. Hi Ella,

    Well done! So we are in the process of researching whether or not to vent our roof. We are using wool insulation and a metal roof, like you, so wanted to ask you what led to your decision not to vent the soffits and cap/use a sealed roof system? In other words, we’d rather keep it simple like you did, but no one has told us it is okay (stories of rotted wood sheathing keeping us up at night). Thanks!
    Chris

    • You know, when I went to order the roofing I don’t think they even mentioned a vented ridge. I just went with it without really knowing there was an alternative. Here’s hoping I avoid the rot! Good luck with your house 🙂

  4. I loved see you up on the ridge! I’ve been building houses since 1980. On Martha’s Vineyard, we used cedar shingles about 80 % of the time, & put up a woven shingle ridge. It is an art, & takes a long time to do, was my speciality. I owned horses, & so always sat on the ridge like that, but I brought my fluffy saddle Pad! At least my legs were used to position, I bet you had a hard time walking after working up there!!!

  5. Looking at the pictures of your staddling the roofline made me smile and brought memories of roofing my own tiny house this summer in the hottest week of the year–not my best planning. One thing I did a little different was that I borrowed a friends climbing harness to do the job. Seriously fun times were had as I climbed Mt. Tiny House.

  6. Ella…love the photos…married to a carpenter (30 plus) years…he said you should look into venting the roof. Metal sweats hence the roof rot. Love the photos…and that is exactly how you do the ridge. good luck…

  7. Putting on the metal roof was my LEAST favorite part of building Serenity, my tiny house. Also the most expensive, because I messed up the cuts on so many of the panels I had to buy a bunch more. And the rainy season had just started here in Portland, so it was slick and cold up there! Not happy memories, unlike the 99.9% rest of the house building experience!

Leave a Reply

