More siding, more wall paneling, more insulation…

Standard

My sister and brother in law came up for a few days to help this weekend, just in time for the cold weather’s return. It’s been a while since she’s seen my house so I spent nearly all of the first day excitedly pointing at things and rambling about far distant plans of interior paint colours and kitchen cabinets (while her husband patiently worked on his car) but we did get up some siding onto the front and in by the doorway. She also did a fine job with the saw and cut up some new borders for the bump out windows which I hope to start painting soon.

First, though, we made a redwood border for around the porch overhang and spent a stupid amount of time trying to get it right. We figured we’d make them both at 45 degree angles which should meet up all nice and pretty, right? Well, in my world of carpentry, no. Just as well I’ve given up on the fantasy of a square house.

Interiorally…is that a word? Hmm. Interior wise, I spray foamed the other wheel well and am continuing on with wall paneling and insulation. It’s hard to believe that quite a few sections require only these two things before they are finished! I am just loving this inside work, it’s so gratifying and really makes things seem like you’re getting somewhere ๐Ÿ™‚

I have been knocking around the thought of putting up some form of wainscoting in the great room and finally decided to go for it. Lowes sell another kind of 1/4″ pine wall paneling with a bead down the center, so I bought a bunch and put it up vertically to just above the window line.

I’m thinking that whatever moulding I end up using to cover the seam will hang further over the vertical panels so they look a bit shorter. I’d prefer them not to be so high (41″), but where they are now puts each panel at the perfect horizontal 2×4 in the wall framing and I’d rather not have to stick another board in there. Especially as I’m having to put in an extra 2×2 for support in the middle anyway so we don’t get bendy walls. Nobody likes a bendy wall…

6 responses »

  1. Great blog, I’ve been following your blog for about a month now. I’m a high school technology education teacher and teach a course called home repair, so I share blogs like this with my students often. I love sustainability and eco-friendly designs.

    A question: Is there an issue with the sheep wool settling in the walls and leaving an uninsulated space near the top of the wall cavity? I have never used this form of insulation so I don’t know that much about it. I love the idea though.

    Anyway, great job, I’m sure you’re an inspiration to many. My female students always do better work than the males. Maybe because they don’t pretend to know everything like the guys do and they actually pay attention to details. I grade your work an A+ so far! Keep the updates coming, the progress looks great!

    • I haven’t found the wool to sink so long as you fill the whole wall cavity and gaps. I was concerned about that in the beginning but thankfully it hasn’t budged. It actually sticks to itself well so it feels pretty sturdy in there, and it’s so nice to work with ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for your generous grade!

  2. Hi there, I am looking to start my own tiny house project soon and I was wondering about how much time you are spending working on your tiny house? Are you working on it everyday? All day?

    Thank you so much, I really like your blog.

    • It seems to me that I don’t spend nearly enough time actually working it. Now that I’m able to work alone I try to get something done every day but numerous obstacles always seem to come up. Things like weather or other obligations occasionally, but mostly it’s little mental blocks that prevent me from progress. As long as I don’t let my mind jump ahead of the task at hand I can stay pretty focused. It’s funny though, there’s so much thought and little decision making that goes into the process that it often seems like I don’t get very much done in a day. But looking back to even a week ago there’s tons of new stuff up now. Anyway, a bit ramble-y there, but essentially I think that any progress is progress and you just have to do what you can ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Pingback: Building a new deck on the newly-painted frame | Tiny Cabin in the Woods

Leave a Reply

