For the love of a house…

Standard

This may be a bit of a gushy post, but I just wanted to say how much I love my house. So, I really love my house.

I’ve been out there most nights recently with the light and many layers on, listening to music play through my computer in one of those fantastically functioning outlets. I usually get in a bit of wall paneling, but sometimes I just sit there and stare at it. I think about flooring and stoves and light fixtures or where would be best to store silverware. And I am constantly amazed that through my stepdad and my efforts, we have made this colossal thing that commandeers the driveway.

It’s funny, despite all of my uncertainty surrounding the build, I’m not in the least bit concerned about actually living in such a ‘tiny’ space. Someone asked me the other day if I wasn’t a little worried about adjusting and I was surprised to find out that I’m not. At all, really. Perhaps this isn’t very smart, and perhaps it will be different when I do move in but I just can’t find anything about it that would bother me in any major way.

Maybe it’s just because it will be mine, and there’s something to be said for that. I shared a room with my sister my entire life before I left for college and even after, I wasn’t allowed to put so much as a tack into the walls of my boxy room in student halls. My third year was spent sleeping on a couch with my life shoved into a closet (occupied mostly by a water heater of epic proportion) so I just can’t wait to have my own little home. It was a great couch though; squishy and of the most atrocious purple tartan…

Or maybe it’s that I won’t have to give up the space. I moved at least once every year while in Scotland and I’m so sick of packing, finding new accommodation and leaving somewhere I became comfortable in. How beautiful that all that will change is the view from out my window.

Ok, next post will have pictures! We worked really hard today and tomorrow should be the same šŸ™‚

8 responses »

  1. Ella,
    I am so proud of you. I stumbled upon your blog quite a while ago. Nothing gives me more pleasure than to watch your little house emerge into this world. It must be something very precious to have a house you’ve created inch by inch. It is truly your home!

  2. Ella,

    That is a very heart-warming post. I can empathize with you the entire way. I felt like I was sitting there listening to my music just admiring the whole idea of this magical little quaint home. If anyone asked me about the space thing, I’d have to give them the old fish theory… They only grow as big as their bowl!! Maybe we don’t need all of the wasted space that we all have. Maybe it affords us to get out and do more things in nature or creating things outside of the living area… I believe so. It’s just a great feeling knowing that one has a warm, safe, loving place to lay our heads at night with all of our little comforts surrounding us. In all of my years on this planet (50) I’ve learned that what’s most important are those attributes. I raise my glass to you young lady!!! Keep it up. You are an inspiration to us all!! February 23, 2012 Tina.

  3. I’m so glad you stil love your little home now the dream is becoming real. I love small spaces too. I had my life in a demountable camper (truck camper) for 4 years and I still would if circumstances hadn’t changed. Small spaces are great.

  4. I always look forward to more pictures but this post was very visual. When I sit on my new trailer I can see where everything is going to be (for the most part) too. My blog is up but I’m going to wait til I get a little bit of content up before it’s announced. In the mean time I check out yours for great motivation, Thank you!! (Mine will be a Fencl also) Mike

  5. No apologies ever necessary for a post from the heart. I found it very real and heart warming. You are getting close. I am looking forward to your post on move in day…

Leave a Reply

