Fascia boards and problem saving drip edges…

Standard

The finished fascia boards are finally up! I eventually settled on a curved design for the end boards and cut up the 4 pieces from the last redwood 1×12 before putting it all together the other day in glorious, good omen type sunshine.

As one may have construed from the history of my house, things don’t usually turn out square, and my roof is no exception. Up there by themselves, the fascia boards looked ok at the roofline from a distance, but any not-so-close inspection would reveal the bare edge of the plywood bending all willy nilly and the nice, straight fascia board highlighting the not-squareness of it in fine form.

But then enter the drip edges. To whoever invented these wonderful, metal, water repelling flashings, I would like to say thank you. I would like to say thank you multiple times and bounce around a while because these things are brilliant, functional and cover a shit ton of mistakes.

We didn’t follow the guidelines and buy the fancy, pricey, colour coordinated ones from the roofing company, and we didn’t put them on first as you’re supposed to, but we did find these dandy ones at the hardware store in an entirely passable dark brown for $5.68 a piece, and we did get them up under the roofing far after the fact (today) with narry a hassle.

And it looks beautiful. I was finally able to put the last screws in the bottom of the roof to secure the new edges, and the whole house beams with a delightful air of completion.

Another thing I worked on today was caulking. I haven’t noticed any other tiny housers mention this part so I don’t know if it’s common practice, but my cedar boards (particularly the stuff I did a while back) don’t exactly fit into each side like Cinderella’s slipper.

I find them uncomfortably inconsistent, ranging from almost no gap, to 1/16″ or 1/8″ gap without much warning. I’m concerned about water getting into the cracks and causing trouble, so I opted to run a thin bead of caulk along them wherever the siding ends.

Around the corners and window borders I went, cussing under my breath at the ‘drip free’ caulk dispenser scam that covered me in silicone. At least it dries clear, hopefully my mistakes will blend better into the wood than my hair.

13 responses »

  1. **envisions Ella cussing, fails.**

    Also, I know it bothers you that things aren’t square… but, at least in my opinion, and having years and years of woodworking under my belt, having a wood project perfectly square doesn’t really have many benefits other than some kind of human pride of the mastery over nature. In fact, no commercially-built full-sized house is even perfectly square and everything, it just doesn’t happen!

    As time has aged me, I’ve come to a compromise: trees aren’t square, rocks aren’t square, and that’s mother nature’s little beautiful signature.

  2. Your little home is really coming along. I just love the beautiful curved detail on the ends of the fascia. Your home has so many nice little touches.

  3. Cute write-up today. The house is really comming along! I found your blog, a couple months ago, got myself caught up, and now look forward to receiving your e-mail updates. Keep up the great work.

  4. Greetings, I have read about your whole adventure. Three concerns – 1. Do you have a fire extinguisher in the plans? 2 – Do you have a secondary escape exit? 3. Do you plan for a fire alarm / CO alarm?
    I live full time in a motor home. I have all three. My rear window pops out for an additional exit. I have a fire extinguisher and a fire alarm.
    Just some thoughts and concerns about your safety.
    I love the Irish Harp and have visited twice.
    Regards,
    David

    • 1. I haven’t made any specific plans for an extinguisher, but I suppose that would be a smart thing to have
      2. I could get out of my windows I do believe (the sashes come out) but otherwise I have only my one door
      3. I honestly haven’t thought about a fire alarm, but that is another smart thing to have!

  5. Ella,
    I am thinking maybe to remove a sash might take too long. I think you might be wise to do a little research or check with the local fire dept. I’d keep a hammer or something to break the window to bail out. Quicker and I think better.

    Also check the carbon monoxide detectors too. Colorless, odorless wicked gas.

    Safety is important in these smaller places since you might only have a few seconds to bail out.

    Be safe.
    Regards,
    David

  6. Hi Ella,
    I’m going to begin building my own little house on April 3rd or 4th. My friend/main carpenter comes on the 2nd from Oklahoma (im in CO). Right now I’m doing a lot of purchasing of materials. My question to you is about how you get so many pictures into your web posts. What’s the technique for that? Right now I have all my photos (of my truck and trailer) on a Facebook page and my writing on a blog, but I think it would be better to have the photos on the blog.

    You are doing a great job with this and are helping me face what I’m about to do. I’m not building the whole thing by myself as you are (my friend the carpenter is in charge) but will be there working on it all along side him. My little house is much bigger also – I have a 28′ flatbed trailer with a gooseneck and I’m going to build to maximum road traveling dimensions 81/2′ wide by 131/2′ tall.

    I’ve also designed the trailer myself as Jay’s plans aren’t really suitable to my trailer and what I wanted. I went to one of his workshops in Boulder though. And I have an architect/engineer helping me with the technical design issues so my carpenter will have plans.

    All the best to you in finishing – it’s not that far away now! I, too dream of being in my house – though so far it’s always good dreams.

    Blessings,
    Robin

    • Congratulations on your impending build! Regarding posting pictures, WordPress blog pages just have a little picture icon you click on up as you write a new post.

      Then it lets you find them on your computer (much like Facebook) and loads them straight onto the page, I should imagine that if you already have a blog, the host site ought to have a similar system. If not, perhaps you might start a new one with a different site. I’m terrible with technology, but now that I’ve got the hang of it it’s quite easy. Best of luck!!

      • Thanks Ella,
        Actually, after I wrote the post above, I went to my blog (gypsyturtlejournal.wordpress.com/) and just put in the photos. I’d seen that your blog was on wordpress and figured if you could do it, I could. So, I now have photos in some of my posts.

        I really enjoy reading your posts. BTW, I’m a musician too – but much older.

        All the best to you in everything.

        Robin

Leave a Reply

