Almost a ceiling…

Standard

Putting insulation and wall paneling up on the ceiling has taken a really long time. I’d wanted to wait and write about it when it was all done, but it’s been longer than I deem reasonable so you’ll have to take it in its nearly finished state. It’s still nice though, and I can see looking at it how much has gone into this lovely little milestone.

All the walls leading up to the ceiling had to get paneling first. For me, this meant staring at the kitchen wall for AGES before closing it to make sure I put the wiring for my light in just the right spot. It is totally in the right spot though πŸ™‚ Then came the actual starting of the ceiling paneling which was proably the tricksiet part of the whole operation because everything didn’t line up quite right.

It took 3 sepertate sections through the table saw to get it; 1: very thin groove-side-down pieces to get the loft paneling at the same height as the wall paneling, 2: bigger groove-side-down pieces to raise the wall up straight to the rafters, and 3: tounge-side-up pieces with 45 degree angles on the bottom to fit over the previous pieces and start going up the rafters.

It sounds a little confusing writing it down, which makes sense because it was more than a little confusing trying to figure it out. But figure I did with my step dad’s help on the table saw (I still just don’t like using that one) and moved on to the next problem.

This stumbling block was that there was nothing at either of the lofts to nail the ends of the panels to. Lucky for me, I didn’t cut 45 degree angles onto the loft triangle panels as I thought I should have and put them up in a stair like manner when I first started. I figured it was less work and they would get covered by the ceiling panels anyway. In this rare case laziness saved me bum, and those boards provided a just-strong-enough surface to screw in a thin cedar support. It was entirely unintentional so I can’t claim any credit for it, but I was nicely chuffed just the same πŸ™‚

So then the proper paneling/insulating started. I’ve seen other tiny housers use single length panels that end on one stud, but I like the look of staggered paneling for the ceiling instead. I think it reminds me of a patchwork quilt. A wooden ceiling patchwork quilt. Anyway, that’s what I did, and I worked out a consistent system that I repeated on both sides.

I don’t think I’ve mentioned too much about the damn trouble it’s been getting a hold of good bundles of wall paneling, so get ready for a lumber rant. Each Lowes has a certain number of them in their inventory (economy plank white pine wall paneling), and until said inventory is entirely gone they don’t jump at any request for ordering more. This means that whatever is left is usually the absolute crappiest of the crap and you’re lucky to find something even slightly promising.

Up til now my dad, my mom and I have traversed nearly every Lowes in the Southern California area and usually come out with no more than 5 bundles. Of course, when you get to each new store you’re on you own finding them; I have explained the concept many a time to blank stares or a confident statement that 1/4″ T&G white pine paneling doesn’t exist. For the record, people do seem to know what cedar closet liner is and the pine is usually beside it.

It’s been annoying having to stop and wait for more lumber though, so when one of my sisters came to visit from Northern California, she was so good as to stop along the way and fill up her truck bed with 21 bundles of the stuff. The guy said that I could go through them and return what I didn’t use as long as I have a receipt and the packaging with me, and buddy, that’s exactly what I aim to do.

In each bundle of 6, I put at least 3 blackened, broken or twisted boards into the take-back pile which now eclipses the good pile several times over. I can’t believe that someone would package up and attempt to sell a board that has a frigging black hole in it the size of Canada (where they are manufactured, incidentally). Oi. Ok, rant over.

So, after much moving between ladders, cutting and re-cutting panels, and lots of dusty sheep wool sneezes (the very top was nice because it’d just fall right onto my head) I shall say voila! Almost a ceiling πŸ™‚

6 responses »

  1. Awesome! I’m most impressed by your cut out around the electric box. I wouldn’t have been able to make such a nice close cut. Looks great! I look forward to these updates.

  2. Nice work! My back & neck hurt, just thinking about doing this work, but it sure does look nice. I too really look forward to your updates.

  3. Ella! WIll you send a photo now that the yellow door is painted? Can’t wait to see it! Congrats on the ceiling. Ugh! Love Stell

Leave a Reply

