A ceiling, door trim and a found porch post…

Standard

My ceiling is done! I feel like shouting it, and perhaps I will. My neighbors get that I’m weird. Seriously though, it’s such a thing to look at. The last pieces went up without much of a hitch, and Little Yellow just seems so much more…done. I know she’s not at all, but I feel there’s a lot less to do now. I have a ceiling!

The last run of paneling required the table saw to make them 3″ with the grove-side down. They left a gap at the ridge that ranged from almost nothing to nearly 1/2″ and I was worried that the final pieces wouldn’t cover everything, but I worried needlessly. With 45 degree angles on each side, they worked perfectly and hid all the unevenness.

Goodness I’m glad the overhead insulating is done, it really gets everywhere. Pieces kept falling out as I tried to cover it up yesterday and I came into the big house afterward blinking it out of my eyelashes and looking like a graying, be-chesthaired fellow with a full face 5:00 shadow.

I also finally got some trim around my wee yellow door. Since I’m set on cedar, I tried to use part of the fence boards I put around the bump out windows but they happen to be just a little too short. I left the idea for a while and I’m glad I did because I got the perfect wood for it at the local hardware store. The lovely lumber chaps dug up some old but nice 6″ cedar tongue and groove boards that must have been sitting there for a heck of a time. After a run through the table they were ready to go, and my door is simply and beautifully trimmed.

I took a trampling, sliding trek down a hill with a friend the other day and found a treasure trove of cut up manzanita trees. I don’t know why someone decided to go crackerjacks with a chainsaw on an unoccupied mountainside, but they did. I’m also pretty sure it’s illegal to cut down manzanita…Plies and piles of it, a bit sad really. Buried in a particularly high stack was the only branch of any length and we dug it out, by george.

They’re usually shortish bushy type trees that don’t grow up-the-way with much substance, so this one, being big and tall enough for porch post purposes, is quite the holy grail of branches. I made the drive home feeling rather pleased with the day and a wild, twiggy branch sticking a few good feet out my passenger window. I do love the mountains…

12 responses »

  1. Ella,

    What a cool idea for a porch post! Am I right in assuming it’s drift wood? Hopefully it is strong enough to withstand a bump or two (incase you lose your balance and run into the post).

    The ceiling looks good!

    -Matthew

    • It’s a piece of a manzanita tree, they’re native to the west coast mountain areas and have gorgeous, smooth red bark when they’re alive. This branch has lost almost all of it because its been there a while, so it would probably end up an ivory colour if I sanded it a lot. They do actually call it mountain driftwood though, which is interesting.

      I try to plan most things so that I could run into them as it’s a fairly common occurrence for me. Manzanita is a pretty hard wood, so I figure if we really stick it on there it should be fine ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Looks awesome. I’m so insanely jealous, but also immensely both proud of you and very happy for you. Little touches like this post really make it yours.

    • Thank you Justin! Don’t let go of your tiny house plan and you’ll be putting your own touches on there before you know it. That cooler thing on your blog looked awesome, by the way.

  3. Ella, the interior is looking beautiful! You’ve been busy, it looks like! Manzanita, that surely is a find… such a nice hardwood…. and one-of-a-kind! Will you seal it or leave it au naturel?

    • I was so stoked to have found it, I saw so many short ones that I’d just about given up. What’s left over of the bark is peeling off so I’ll have to sand it somewhat, and I’ll probably put something on it protect the wood but I don’t want anything too shiny or obtrusive. I guess I’ll let the branch tell me what it needs ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. i just found and read through your ENTIRE blog. it’s like reading a novel with the ending still unfinished! i love your little house–totally inspiring. love the color scheme, including the colors of the differently colored natural woods, plus the triangle detail above the loft window(s?) is very creative, simple and gorgeous! i’m sitting on the edge of my seat, and wishing it was my very own fencl window seat, while i wait for more. like i said, totally inspiring!

    • Thanks for taking the time to read of my rambles! I love the little triangle detail too, one of my favourite parts. It just makes me smile when I look at it ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you get your own Fencl seat to read on, it was because of the window seat that I decided I had to have one!

  5. Nice to see you have finished the first 20%! Changing the house into a home is the next 80%. If you ever feel like quitting just look back at how much you have already accomplished and remember that you CAN finish it!

  6. So, I’d gotten a bit behind on your posts due to work craziness…I had to go back and read all of the ones I’d missed, of course! How exciting…the house is looking A-MAZING!!! I’m jealous and excited and inspired all at the same time! I look forward to reading your posts and looking at the pictures of the awesome job you’ve done. Your adventures inspire me to more seriously consider creating my own little house.

  7. Hey Ella,
    How did you handle insulating above the porch area? From the picture it looks like you put cedar above the porch and the doug fir flooring across the storage loft. Did you insulate the section in between the porch area? Did you just put in the wool or did you put some sort of barrier above the porch ceiling? Thanks for any advice, Erin

    • Hi Erin! I just put the wool insulation up in both places, no barrier in either. Hopefully that wont come back to bite me! I nailed 1/4″ cedar closet liner above the porch and same 1/4″ pine wall paneling used all through the house above the window seat.

Leave a Reply

