Wall paneling done…

Standard

Well it’s been an awfully long time since I’ve written! I hope not to be so long in the future 🙂 I am back home and back to house building after a delightful time away, and my return has brought some new determination. My goal at the time being is to try and get Little Yellow done as soon as I possibly can because I’d like to stay at my parent’s for a while to work out any carpenteric kinks while I still have access to my dad’s excellently marvelous collection of tools. (This spell check isn’t buying ‘carpenteric’ as a word. They do suggest ‘carpetbagger’ though) So! That’s the plan.

Today I finished up the last of the wall paneling in the bathroom and changing room at the hitch-end, which means I have walls! 4 of them! And they’re all shiny and paneled 😀 Next I suppose will be window trim and corner moulding. I’m in dire need of some corner moulding… But first I want to get my pine flooring down. It’s had a nice good time to acclimate in there, so the only thing stopping me now are the right nails. I guess I didn’t think much about that part but after some research it seems I need 2″ ringshank nails for the big scary gun. Hopefully my dad will be able to stop by Lowes tomorrow and pick some up so I can get started on Saturday.

Also! It appears that Clyde has had little baby squirrels and they are THE cutest things. There are at least 4 and they were all over the place this morning, wandering around testing out underdeveloped jumping legs. The tiniest one tried to leap from the tree to the porch railing and failed brilliantly. He made the distance but just kept going after he landed and plowed into the side of the house. I guess a 3.5′ rail must be a pretty big thing for a very little squirrel 🙂

Now I think of it, this probably makes Clyde a girl. No matter, we’re not changing the name.

15 responses »

  1. It’s good to have you back! I was actually wondering the other day what you’ve been up to.

    I’ve enjoyed the saga of your tiny house and look forward to seeing more in the future!

  2. Hello Little Yellow!

    Thanks for the update. Wow!!! You’ve just made so many strides!! 4 walls???!!!! WOOOOO!!!!!
    How exciting!! My friends and I are all so excited for you Ella!!! Keep us posted! 🙂

  3. Clyde(et)? Is a ham for the camera! Ask your stepfather if he received the wooden chest photographs I send about a week ago. Good progress! All natural wood is a great choice for the interior. I love the sleeping loft. Where do the stairs go! Gary

  4. Little Yellow looks amazing!!! How exciting to have 4 completed walls 🙂 Plus Clyde’s pictures are great 😀

  5. Ella, do you know about how much yellow has cost so far? I love the fact that your step Dad has stepped up and was the all inclusive man that Dad’s are supposed to be. He sounds like one hell of a guy. I hope you enjoy yellow after so much love has gone into her building, continued success.

    • So far I think I’m in about $16,000 but I haven’t updated my costs in a while. Hoping to make it out around $18,000 but we shall see! My dad is super wonderful 🙂

Leave a Reply

