Pine flooring down…

Standard

Little Yellow has a floor! It’s haphazard with no particular order and 2 different kinds of nails from one half to the other (I ran out), but I don’t care. I love it and it’s the most beautiful floor I’ve ever made :D.

My neighbor got me started over the weekend, with galvanized nails and a bucket of sticky floor glue, and before I knew it I was plowing away on my own. Finding the right nails for the big scary gun proved much more difficult than I’d thought, and as I was already a bit concerned about the possibility of splitting the soft pine wood, I went the old fashioned route and hand nailed. It was quite a lot of fun, and I only smashed the shit out of my finger once. Still, after the first board I became instantly grateful for the small stature of my house. I don’t think my will power would have survived anything over 300 square feet.

Picking just the right board for each section took me the most time…I spend way too much thinking about these things. It did get done though, in two afternoons of concerted effort. The process involved spreading thin-ish beads of glue down the back side of each board with a notched putty knife called a dowel (if I recall correctly) before nailing onto my very vacuumed subfloor. I pre-drilled holes in the butted ends at slight angles so as to avoid splitting, which appears to have worked.

There’s something about looking down and seeing a floor, like in a proper house, that is really REALLY exciting. I leaped to sweep it as soon as the last board was down. I swept, and then I took my shoes off and walked across for the first time. I’m not going to lie, there was some skipping/spinning going on over here, and this floor took it brilliantly. Sanding, possibly staining and definitely oiling soon!

18 responses »

  1. Thank you for the words and photos chronicling your progress. It’s been so much fun to watch you turn several loads of lumber, metal, and sweat into a home. I look forward to witnessing the grand finale! -Photographer and fellow artist Alycia C. Sears

  2. Hi Ella, I’ve been busy myself, and missed a couple of your posts. All caught up now and all I can add is one more ” ATTA GIRL!!!” You’ve come so far and it’s been a delight to watch your little dream home manifest. I have one request, any pictures of Clyde’s babies?

    • Thank you! The pictures I recently put up are actually of one the little ones. Unfortunately, without something to compare them to size wise you can’t really tell how small they are. But! They are pretty tiny and so adorable 🙂

  3. Hello Ella,

    I just recently found your blog from the tumbleweed blog. My wife and I are considering building a Fencl as well. We have tenatively signed up for the DC building workshop. We’ve been making a lot of trips to lowes to scout out necessity items for the build.

    My main question to you is this, do you feel like having the air compressor with nail gun was a big time saver for you and your dad? Are there any tools that you discovered were really useful that you hadn’t been aware of when you started?

    • I really appreciated the nail gun. Everything can take such a long time anyway that just being able to stick it all together super fast was really nice. Especially for the roof sheathing when gravity is not in your favour and you just want to get the bloody thing on as fast as humanly possible.

      The nails are super hard to get out once they’re in though, and I have worried a little as Tumbleweed uses screws for everything. I went back through with screws after and put a few in where I thought it needed the most holding power, but for my house, it would have taken weeks longer to have used just screws.

      My neighbour also lent me a super fine air compressor pin nailer for the interior walls and it has been amazing. They are so small you can barely see them but the holding power is pretty damn good. I think they’re the perfect thing because I can still get the boards off if I need to and it barely leaves a mark in the wood. Also, having just painted over a wall with them they have become almost invisible.

      Other tools wise, I knew NOTHING about any of them so pretty much everything I encountered seemed extra fantastic. Thinking though, chalk lines are wonderful, tack pullers and pry bars have been invaluable. And speed squares, wonderous things. Other tools that get used frequently are a Japanese saw (excellent for little things), jigsaw, chop saw, table saw, skil saw…probably more.

      Best of luck with you house adventure! Feel free to ask any questions 🙂

      • Thank you for the thoughtful response. It’s a bit overwhelming to not know what we will need. I don’t want to buy anything that we won’t use, or buy something that isn’t as powerful as we actually will need. We’re probably going to hold off on buying anything until we get back from the DC meet up.

      • That’s probably wise, I waited until after the workshop I attended to buy anything as well. Another consideration is perhaps someone you know might have some of the tools you’ll need? Especially when building something as cute as a tiny house, neighborly people can be very helpful 🙂

    • AED, I will also be attending the Tumbleweed workshop in D.C., and am hoping to start building my Fencl as soon as I get back from that! Where are you from? I’ll probably be building mine in Martinsburg, WV. We should coordinate our efforts perhaps.

      Either way, I look forward to meeting you at the workshop.

      -Sara Orr

      • Hello Sara,

        I look forward to meeting you in DC as well. I live in Charlotte NC and my sister lives in DC so that’s why we went ahead and chose that particular workshop. I’m really looking forward to it and I hope to learn a lot. I pass through WV from time to time, maybe my wife and I can stop and see your Fencl when it’s completed.

        Alan

  4. I have some good neighbors across the street that we are friends with. They are an older couple and have lent me a ladder. Nice people, but I get the impression they are very particular about their things. I doubt they would want to loan me something more than a day or two. Beyond that I think I will try to get get as many of my tools as possible from Craig’s list. Anything I don’t want to keep long term can be resold for approximately what I paid for it. There are certain things I will likely want to buy myself. Like the chop saw and table saw.

  5. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any issues of
    plagorism or copyright infringement? My blog has a lot of unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any techniques to help stop content from being ripped off? I’d truly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

