Of futons and good small companies…

Standard

Today, I ordered my futon! It recently occurred to me that I had best get something comfortable to sleep on if I am going to be living in Little Yellow, so I began to do some research on bedding options. My requirements were 1. something that wasn’t made with foam or unnatural materials, 2. something that wasn’t too thick so as to leave more head room in the loft, and 3. something that wasn’t hysterically expensive. 1 and 2 weren’t so terribly hard to come by, but 3 was difficult and the combination was almost impossible.

Almost, because then I found a company in Montana called Small Wonders Futons. They use only natural fibers (cotton and wool) that don’t offgas, and make each one by hand. Their founder studied traditional futon making in Japan, and they have continued to follow those high standards since starting in 1981.

What I like best about Small Wonders is that they are a small company with their priorities in order. The owners are nice, helpful, and actually answer the phone when you call. The wool they use comes from local sheep, the cotton is American grown, and they are a fine example of a company that still upholds quality over quantity.

Another great thing is that they are pretty darn affordable as bedding goes. Everything I came across with strictly natural materials seemed to be at least $1000 and was made and shipped from who knows where.

They do custom futons in addition to standard sizes, but my loft fits a queen perfectly so I’ll be getting an extra nice, double wool and cotton one that is 6″ thick for the extra headroom. Check out their website and have a read about what they stand for, because I think these guys are just wonderful. Can’t wait to receive it! http://www.smallwondersfutons.com/

14 responses »

    • Looks to be about $150 FedEx shipping to my middle of nowhere California, but it still keeps the price far under the competition. I’ll write a post once I get it!

  1. Thank you so much! I’m in need of a new futon. The options are few here in Boulder Colorado. This futon company you’ve brought to light seems perfect. And by the way, looking forward to someday seeing your completed tiny house. You are taking such care in creating it.

    • I so glad you know about Small Wonders now! If you end up getting one from them, would you mention you found them in my blog? I’d love for them to know 🙂 And I can’t wait to be done and living in my wee darling, every step makes it closer!

  2. Small companies are the best. I know this is a random question, but how are you going to heat and cool Little Yellow? So sorry if this has been answered already.

    • I’ve been using a little boat heater by origo that runs on denatured alcohol. It’s pretty small, but it gives off some nice heat if you’re nearby it and it’s been sufficient for what I’ve needed so far. Living coastally as I plan to, I don’t think cooling will be much of an issue, so it’ll be mostly heat I’ll need to figure out. I’m planning to continue using my wee alcohol heater and see how it goes with that, and perhaps once I have income again I’ll rethink. And small companies are the best!

  3. I am so impressed with the care you’re taking with your choices. Elements like the futon and your countertops bring some magic into the space that just can’t be bought for any money. Visitors wouldn’t be aware of the hundreds of self-aware decisions, but I think they can feel the combined effect.

  4. Hi, Ella. What an amazing project. I discovered Small Wonders Futons through your blog. I’m considering purchasing a futon from them to use as seating and a guest bed in my baby’s room, but I can’t find any other reviews of their products (except on their website). Now that you have had your futon for several months, could you please let us know, are you still very happy with it? Thank you very much.

  5. I also would like to know how your mattress has held up. We are considering ordering one for our tiny house loft but have only seen one other review. Are you still happy with it? My husband worries about the tufting being uncomfortable. Is that the case? How soft or firm is it? We prefer a firm mattress and are looking at the wool/cotton or double/wool cotton options. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

