A fellow tiny house down…

Standard

Though I do not know them personally, Kim and Jenn are two gals who have been building their own tiny house about as long as I have. They put beautiful work into this house, and it looked to be very near completion with furniture, trim work, cabinetry and the loveliest little porcelain lights. I can barely hold back crying for them even just writing now, because they have lived my greatest nightmare and lost their home before it ever had a chance to become as such.

A barn fire burned it to the ground last Sunday, and all their care, hard work and planning has crumbled to a blackened pile. Every single thing was destroyed.

I know the love I have for Little Yellow, and how much my tiny house has become part of my life and who I want to be. To think of what Jenn and Kim are going through just makes my heart break.

I’m extremely impressed that these girls are not giving up on their dream, but are picking themselves up and have started raising money to rebuild. Jenn had this to say:

All of Kim’s heart and soul (and mine as well) and all of her life savings went into her tiny house. Now all of that is gone. Every stick of wood. The massive steel trailer. The gorgeous marvin windows. 30,000 down the toilet. It feels terrible to have this happen to one of the most generous people I know on the face of the planet. Please give what you can. Donate to the Kim Langston Tiny House Fund through PayPal. tinyhousefund@gmail.com Thanks.
Here is the link to donate to tinyhousefund@gmail.com: https://www.paypal.com/webapps/mpp/make-online-payments
UPDATE: After getting more information from Jenn, it turns out the two of them are both building their own, and the house that burnt was not the near done one (hers) I thought, but Kim’s that had a very recently completed exterior. The pain and shock must still be immense 😦
10 responses »

  1. I just sent a little bit over via Paypal and noticed that the name associated with the account is Dee Williams of Tiny House fame. Is she spearheading the fundraising for the couple who lost their tiny home in the fire?

      • Hi Michael, The fabulous Dee Williams is spearheading this fundraising attempt. She’s a good friend of ours, an honorary member of our Olympia tiny house club, neighbor and lover of good times. She set up the accounts while Jenn and I were still dealing with the shock of it all. Kim

  2. That is terrible. I would donate, but I don’t have a credit card or paypal account. All of the people commenting that can’t donate should ‘like’ this post, just for a little mental help.

  3. Thank you for sharing this chance to help them out. It truly is heartbreaking to loose something you’ve poured your soul into. I hope this fundraising lifts their spirits and shows them that we are all here to support their dream.

  4. I am one of those building my own tiny home out of need, and I can’t imagine what I would do in their position. I will go to FB and try to give them encouragement, but I truly have no extra money to send (I’m figuring out how to make more money to buy more materials for my own home). Thank you for spreading the word – it can only help them recover more quickly!

    P

  5. They were building it in a barn, and the BARN caught fire?

    Things you don’t expect when building a Tinyhouse.

    Let us know if you find anything interesting in fire suppression for Tinyhouses.

Leave a Reply

