The futon from heaven and the ladder that leads to it…

Standard

So the wool and cotton futon I ordered a little while back (from Small Wonders) is WONDERFUL. I was so excited when it came, that I couldn’t wait for help and hauled the thing down the driveway, through the 21 3/4″ door and up the loft by myself (probably a lot easier for the burlier-than-I folk out there). I’ve been sleeping on it every night in Little Yellow since the day of its arrival and it’s like being on a queen sized, non toxic cloud.

It did take about 2 hours to fall asleep the first night and I woke up every 30 minutes or so to marvel at that I was actually sleeping in my house, but I chilled out and it’s been perfect from that day. This may seem like a strange thing to be happy about, but this futon smells amazing. Sort of like…I don’t know. But really nice :) My previous beef with futons was the weird foamy smell that’s usually present, so I’m very glad there’s nothing like this on mine. I guess it’s because of better ingredients.

It leaves me with about 10″ or so of storage space on each side and at 6″ thick, I think it’s the perfect loft size. It’s also got those got those sewn down pocket things to hold the fibres in place, more like a mattress than a futon, so it feels really normal to sleep on. I absolutely love it! Quite an exciting thing to go to sleep these days :D

And I have a shiny new ladder to get up there now! A very generous carpenter in town, and an acquaintance of Flemming and my dad, gave up his time and trouble (and an 8′ white oak board) to make one that is so beautiful and well done it’s crazy. More on that later!

 

21 responses »

  1. You’re living my dream, and seeing that you can do it gives me confidence to believe that I can do it too. <3 You're an inspiration, just thought you should know. That loft looks like absolute heaven.

  2. You’ve done an amazing job creating your lovely home! I’ve followed your blog for 7-8 months and you’ve given me inspiration. I didn’t go with the tinyhouse, but I did find a tiny lake cottage and living my dream, somewhat parallel to yours. Thank YOU!

  3. oh your tiny home is so very beautiful! I also have been following your blog for a while now, and i am truly inspired by your hard work and creative problem solving. Seeing these pictures with the tiny details of pots & pans, bed sheets and curtains feels so gratifying and its not even my house! Additionally, can I just say that your writing is eloquent and informative of the process, yet also retains that little bit of flair and humor. It really feels as though your voice is talking to us readers!

  4. Congratulations on finally really being at home in your wonderful little house.
    Here’s some free and unasked-for advice, for your safety:
    To prevent potential bruising, you might want to have your ladder guy round off the points nicely at the top. Also: consider some heat deflection, given your stove’s location under the edge of your bed. <3

  5. Hi Ella, I have read your entire blog and get your updates as you post them. I admire your “Can Do” attitude! Prior to building your tiny house did you attend the tiny house workshop the company has?
    Keep up the great work and I look forward to following your adventure!

    • I went to a Tumbleweed workshop in LA with my dad last August just before buying my trailer and getting started. I didn’t have much of a clue what was up with all the construction tips at the time, but I wrote a lot down and met some great people. It was really helpful for my dad too since he knew more of the building stuff. Thanks for your support!

    • Thank you! The ladder slides right into my sleeping loft until I need it again. I usually leave it down though, I can get past it without trouble and I think it looks cute :D

Leave a Reply

